Navagraha Mantras

Navagraha Mantras
According to Hindu Vedic Astrology, the unfavorable position of Planets in the Horoscope is responsible for all the hardships and struggles faced by us despite of the hard work and efforts we put in to improve our lives. The placement of the nine planets in the Horoscope points out the karmic influence on the behavior of the individual. Astrologists and Numerologists use this information to suggest remedial measures for appeasing the ill effects of Planets and there by bettering our lives. One such method is mantra chanting.

Research has proved mantra’s as a powerful tool for healing. Mantra chanting or even listening to it creates positive vibrations and removes negativities. ‘Navagraha Mantra’ is a very popular Mantra and is used to please the planets and influence them positively. VedVyas has written mantra’s to please the navagraha’s including the Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu in actuality are not planets according to the modern astronomy.


· Sun represents soul, king, highly placed persons, father.
· Moon represents Mind, queen, mother.
· Mars represents energy, confidence and ego.
· Mercury represents communication.
· Jupiter represents the great teacher.
· Venus represents wealth, pleasure and reproduction.
· Saturn represents learning and Career.
· Rahu represents an Asura who does his best to plunge any area of one's life he controls into chaos.
· Ketu represents supernatural influences.

Navagraha Stotram

"Namah Sooryaya, Chandraya, Mangalaya, Budhaya cha, Guruhu, Shukra, Shanibhihi cha Rahuve, Ketuve Namaha."

This stotra praises the navagraha’s and is a very popular one. It is believed that by chanting this stotra, can liberate us from all sins and ill effects that may occur due to planetary positions.

Navagraha Stuti

"Aum brahmaa muraari streepuraantakaari,
Bhaanuh Shashi Bhoomisutau buddhashca,
Gurooshca Shukrah Shani Rahu Ketavah
Sarve graha shaantikara bhavantu."

The meaning is “May Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwara along with the 9 planets bless us with peace.” This is a general mantra and is associated with Lord Brahma who controls the nine planets. This mantra calls for him and the nine planets to remove the malefic effects of the nine planets. This mantra should be chanted minimum 7 times a day.

There are individual mantra’s one can chant on the basis of the day of the week like Surya (Sun) mantra on Sunday, Chandra (Moon) mantra on Monday, Mangal (Mars) Mantra on Tuesday, Buddha (Mercury) mantra on Wednesday, Brihaspathi (Jupiter) mantra on Thursday,Shukra Mantra on Friday and Shani (Saturn) mantra on Saturday. Rahu and Ketu Mantra’s can be chanted any day but based on timings.

Surya Mantra

Japakusuma Samkaasham Kashyapeyam Mahadhyuthim!
Tamorim Sarva Paapagnam Pranathosmi Divakaram!!

Chandra Mantra

Dadhishamkha tusharaabham ksheero daarnava sambhavam!
Namami Shashinam Somam Shambor Mukuta Bhooshanam!!

Mangal Mantra

Dharaneegarbha Sambootham Vidyuth Kanthi Samaprabham!
Kumaram Shakthihastham cha Mangalam Pranamaamyaham!!

Budha Mantra

Priyam Gukaalikashyamam Rupenaam prathimam Budham!
Saumyam Saumya gunor petham tham Budham pranamaamyaham!!

Brihaspathi Mantra

"Devaanaam cha Hrisheenaam cha Gurum kaanchana Sannibham!
Buddhibhootam trilokesham tham namaami Brihaspatheem!!

Shukra Mantra

Himakundha Mrinaalabham Daithyaanam Paramam gurum!
Sarvashaastra pravatkaaram Bhaargavam pranamaamyaham!!

Shani Mantra

Neelaamjana Samaabhaasam Raviputram Yamagrajam!
Chchaaya maarthanda samboothm tham namaami Shanishwaram!!

Rahu Mantra

Ardhakaayam mahaveeryam chandradithya vimardhanam!
Sinhigaagarbha sambootham tham raahum pranamamyaham!!

Ketu Mantra

Palashapushpa sankasham taaragagraha masthakam!
Raudram raudrathmakamkhoram tham kethum pranamamhyaham!!

Chanting the mantra and lighting the dhoop in the 1st, 8th, 15th and 22nd hour after sunrise is said to be more beneficial than any other time of the day. One can also wear navratna jewelry to get benefit from all the 9 planets. Read more about it here.

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

I am a Social Media Consultant and Freelance Writer who like to share my knowledge through my writing. I am not a Saffron clad individual or a religious fanatic who talks about Hinduism. I would like to introduce myself as someone who has tremendous respect for all the good things in all religions and cultures.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...